Significance, Date, Puja Timings of the nine-day long festival

Significance, Date, Puja Timings of the nine-day long festival

Significance, Date, Puja Timings of the nine-day long festival

Navratri, one of the biggest and most auspicious Hindu festivals is just round the corner with thousands of devotees gearing up to welcome Goddess Durga.

Every year, the festival is celebrated with great reverence across India. However, in states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, it is celebrated with much more enthusiasm and fanfare.

As per the Hindu calendar, Navratri is celebrated four times in a year – Sharad Navratri, Chaitra Navratri, Magha Gupt Navratri and Ashadha Gupt Navratri – specific to each of the four seasons. However, Sharad Navratri, which usually falls in the month of September or October is the most celebrated and significant one. It is also known as Maha Navratri.

Significance of Navratri:

Navratri is celebrated to commemorate Goddess Durga’s win over the demon Mahishasura and it signifies the victory of peace, goodwill and dharma over evil. Devotees also believe that for these nine days, the Goddess descends on earth to be among them and fulfil all their wishes.

Date and Muhurat:

Navratri begins on the first day of Ashwin lunar month and this year, the festivities will commence from September 29.

On the first day, devotees perform the ritual of Ghatasthapana, marking the beginning of the nine-day festivities. A kalash is installed in this ritual which is immersed in water on the tenth day.

Ghatasthapana is done during a certain period of time and the muhurat for this year is between 6:13 am to 7:40 am. (September 29, Sunday).

Ghatasthapana can also be done during the Abhijit muhurat, which is from 11:47 am to 12:35 pm on the same day.

How is Navratri celebrated:

All nine days during Navratri are dedicated to nine forms of Goddess Shakti. Goddess Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri are worshipped each day respectively.

Numerous rituals are followed during these days, which vary from state to state. However, Ghatsthapana on the first day, fasting for nine days, performing dandiya and garba in honour of the Goddess and donning attires of different colours each day are the most common among them.

Devotees also bring idols of Goddess Durga at pandals and perform puja, after which it is immersed in water. The process of immersion is also known as Visarjan.

Please, share this post on Pinterest !

Like it? Share with your friends!